Have You Been Accused of DUI Manslaughter?

DUI manslaughter under Florida law occurs when someone operates a motor vehicle is guilty of DUI (driving under the influence) as defined in Florida Statutes Section 6.193(1) and who, as a result of operating a motor vehicle under the influence causes or contributes the death of any human being or unborn viable fetus.

Why should I Contact a Criminal Defense Attorney?

DUI manslaughter is a serious second-degree felony in Florida punishable which is punishable by up to 15 (fifteen) years in prison and a $10,000.00 fine. Florida law also requires a minimum mandatory sentence of four-year imprisonment for anyone convicted of DUI manslaughter. See. 316.193(3)(c)3, Florida Statutes. In addition to the four-year minimum mandatory prison sentence required by Florida Statutes, other factors may affect whether you can ever obtain a driver’s licensed after a felony DUI conviction.

If the driver has no prior DUI related convictions, he driver may be eligible for a hardship reinstatement after five years have passed from the date of revocation, after the period of incarceration ended. The driver would have to meeting the following requirements:

  • the driver has not been arrested for any drug-related offense for at least the five years period prior to the hearing
  • the driver has not driven a motor vehicle without a license for at least the five years period prior to the hearing
  • the driver has not consumed any drugs or alcohol during the five year period prior to the hearing

After a conviction for DUI Manslaughter, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is required to impose a mandatory permanent (lifetime) revocation if the driver has any prior DUI convictions.

If you have been charged with any criminal offense - felony/misdemeanor - state/federal - call attorney Marc Plotnick, Esquire – 1-727-577-3300 at Plotnick Law. With more than 24 years’ experience, the attorneys at Plotnick Law are here to help! Plotnick Law – 1-727-577-3300!!